Thursday, 8 July 2010

Victory for Commoners Who Win Parliamentary Boat Race

The Lords in red behind the
Commons in Green.
The House of Commons rowing crew was victorious in the annual parliamentary boat race on the River Thames on this afternoon.

The crew included local parliamentarian Edward Leigh MP, Conservative (Gainsborough) and Duncan Hames, Liberal Democrat (Chippenham). The captain was Don Foster MP, Liberal Democrat (Bath).
Mr. Hames commented on his twitter feed following the race:
"Celebrating victory in the Parliamentary Boat Race, and securing thousands of [pounds] for the Stroke Association and Thames apprenticeships."
It is the second year running that the Commons crew has beat the crew from the House of Lords.

The race started just off Millbank Pier with the finishing line between the Houses of Parliament and St Thomas' Hospital.
Members of the House of Commons Crew, including Edward Leigh MP (right).