Wednesday, 11 May 2011

EXCLUSIVE: West Lindsey Conservatives Elect Leadership

Above: Cllr. Burt Keimach
Below: Cllr. Ian Fleetwood
West Lindsey District Council Conservative Group met in a closed session last night for their Annual General Meeting at the Guildhall, Marshall's Yard, Gainsborough and elected their leadership team for the coming civic year.

Re-elected as Group Leader was Cllr. Burt Keimach, Conservative (Market Rasen Ward), who will doubtlessly become Leader of the Council at the meeting on Monday, 23rd May 2011. Cllr. Keimach said:
"I feel confident that we are a strong team able to achieve our aims."
In a tight contest for the group's deputy leadership incumbent Cllr. Mrs. Irmgard Parrott, Conservative (Cherry Willingham Ward) was eased out by Cllr. Ian Fleetwood, Conservative (Bardney Ward). Cllr. Keimach is still to appoint a Chief Whip. Other elections included Mr. Giles McNeill as Group Secretary and Mrs. Meg Davidson as the Group Treasurer.

The Group also discussed the Leader's appointment of the various Chairmen for the Council's main Committees which will be confirmed at the Annual Council Meeting. A further meeting will be held next week to determine representaions on outside bodies.

No comments: