Wednesday, 19 December 2012

West Lindsey Announces Christmas Waste Service Changes

Most properties in the West Lindsey district will be affected by changes to refuse and recycling collections between Monday, 24th December 2012 and Friday, 4th January 2013.

Local residents can click here to check details of the collection date in their area. 

Residents should refer to their calendar which was delivered to households in October. Residents are also reminded that bins must be out by 7am.
All properties in the South West Ward of Gainsborough on a sack service will be collected on their normal day. This is Thursday for refuse and Friday for recycling.
For any queries please contact the council's Customer Services Team on 01427 676676.
If you have any extra waste to dispose of during this time, the opening hours of local Household Waste Recycling Centres are as follows:
  • Summergangs Lane, Lea, Road, Gainsborough 9am – 4pm Open Friday to Monday
  • The Rasens, Gallamore Lane, Market Rasen 9am – 4pm Open Friday to Monday
  • Great Northern Terrace, Lincoln 9am – 4pm Open Monday to Sunday
All sites are closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Years Day

Please visit for further information.

Thursday, 13 December 2012

Community Awards Celebrate Local Heros

Dedicated volunteer Mrs. Shirley Sanderson has been voted the first ever West Lindsey Citizen of the Year 2012.
For more than forty-two years Mrs. Sanderson, from Gordon Field in Market Rasen, has selflessly supported many of our communities including Market Rasen, Tealby, Walesby, Kirkby cum Osgodby, Owmby and Toft Newton. Much of that time has seen her as parish clerk to these councils, but she has also been a West Lindsey District Councillor, a school governor and chairman of Brookenby Development Ltd.

Mrs. Sanderson was surprised to be nominated and to win the award for Market Rasen Area Champion, before being named as the overall Citizen of the Year as well. She said:
“I was astounded to be nominated for something I have enjoyed doing for many years. It’s just normal work for me and I have enjoyed making things happen.
“It would be good if more younger people got involved. It’s far more difficult now because so many people have got to work and don’t have as much time.”
Mrs. Sanderson was presented with her awards at a packed ceremony, hosted by Chairman of the Council Cllr. Mrs. Jessie Milne and Cllr. Jeff Summers, in the Council Chamber at the Guildhall in Gainsborough.

Cllr. Jessie Milne was very moved by the community spirit of people across the district. She said:
“It was very hard to select a winner in all the categories, as those nominated have done such sterling work. There are so many people who seek no reward for their outstanding effort.
“I hope these annual awards will help recognise these people and highlight just how much work is carried out by volunteers, and how much of their free time they give up.”
Volunteer of the Year 2012 winner was Mrs. Cathy Andrews from Hackthorn. Mrs. Andrews, who always has a cheery smile, has great enthusiasm and pride in her voluntary work. She has worked hard to make sure that the village hall is fully utilised and helps out at many events in order to keep up the community spirit. She said:
“I was humbled at actually getting nominated. You don’t do it for that. I do it because I’ve always done it. If you live in a village you have to do bits to support your village. If you don’t you miss out with a lot.
“I would absolutely encourage other people to get involved in their communities. That’s when you actually start to live in your village.”
Cllr. Jeff Summers, who put forward the idea of the Community Awards, said:
“Our first Community Awards was, for me, a resounding success.
“We have a significant number of people in the district who make a dramatic positive impact upon all age groups. It was a great privilege for me to be able to present the awards and we look forward to making this an annual event.
“Thank you to every one helping to keep our towns and parishes safe and clean for all to enjoy." 
Upton Parish Council was chosen as Parish Council of the Year 2012 for the excellent work they do to keep a safe, secure, clean and tidy village. This is achieved by allocating each parish council member an area of the village to keep an eye on.

Chairman Cllr. Peter Rushton has been on the council for ten years and chairman for six years. He said:
“I’m flabbergasted. We’re only a little council and we were nominated by a village resident. You don’t get a lot of general public coming to meetings. This award is recognition for all our councillors, we work as a team. I must admit if it weren’t for the parish clerk we wouldn’t be where we are today.
“We don’t do it for reward. I don’t think anyone does, but it’s nice to be appreciated. I think if we can recognise people publicly that will encourage other people to get involved.”
The winners in the other categories are:

Volunteer of the Year 2012 runner up was Mrs Mary Galbraith from Lea, for her unlimited support she offers to the vulnerable and elderly residents in her community and the voluntary work that she carries out at both community buildings. Mrs Galbraith couldn’t understand why she had been nominated. She said:
“I do these things because I want to help my friends and neighbours.”
Parish Council of the Year 2012 runners up were Saxilby parish council and Brattleby parish council.

Area winners were:
  • Market Rasen Area Champion 2012 was Mrs. Shirley Sanderson from Market Rasen.
  • Fossdyke Area Champion 2012 was Mr. Mick Slack from Ingham for his work with the elderly in the village and as village caretaker.
  • Caistor Area Champion 2012 was Mrs. Louise Drakes from Keelby for her hard work with the cub and beavers, and also for setting up the Allotment Association. Mrs. Drakes was unable to attend, so Mr. John Hodson accepted the award on her behalf. He said:
 “She’s a real hard worker. We’re very proud of her. I think the awards are good because it recognises the work we do for our village.”
  • Trent Area Champion 2012 was Miss Sue Hunt from Willoughton for tireless devotion to the ‘Tuesday Club’, which is the youth club that runs throughout the year, and has made her a big favourite with the young people of Willoughton. Miss Hunt was unable to attend the ceremony.
  • Witham Area Champion 2012 was Mr. Charles Shaw from Nettleham, known as ‘the man of sport’ in Nettleham, for all his hard work and commitment to sports in Mulsane Park. He said:
“I’m very pleased to have got this.”
  • Gainsborough Area Champion 2012 was Mr Matthew Gleadell from Gainsborough for his work for the Morton Playing Field Association. He helped bring the field back to life, applied for funding and now coaches young people in cricket. He said:
“I’m absolutely overwhelmed. It’s both an honour and a privilege to receive this award. I was quite surprised. I only found out I’d been nominated today!
“I’ve always believed if there are people out there that have got the skills and the knowledge to help communities then they should do. Far too many people don’t get involved with their community and half the time people don’t know the name of their next door neighbour and it’s a real shame. It’s great to celebrate the work these people do.”